Mid-Semester Analysis

March 3, 2013

Well, we are at that mid-semester mark. My first semester in Wayne State’s MLIS program is halfway done. While I have been enjoying my first semester in the program, I am glad it’s halfway done. If I can make it through the first semester I think that’s a good sign for the rest of the program. Plus, it will be nice to have a short break before I start my next class in June. It has been a little difficult getting used to being a student again. Part of me misses all the free time I used to have and reading for fun.
In this post I will look back at some of my previous entries and see if anything has changed in the past six-seven weeks. Looking back at my first couple of entries, I still feel the same about LIS and the information profession. I still believe that libraries and librarians are essential and that they need to adapt in order to stay that way. I would also say that my personal goals and objectives are still basically the same. I still want a job that I love that also pays well. Though I am not entirely sure what that job may be anymore. There are so many different careers out there for a MLIS degree. Just because you have a MLIS does not mean you have to work in a library. Recently, I lead a seminar during class about Information Science careers beyond the library. I am glad that drew that topic for my seminar. It was very interesting to research.

Blogging and the Rest of the Semester
At first, I was not exactly thrilled about keeping a blog. It was something I had never done before; I did not really know how one kept a blog or even started one. Now, I find that I actually enjoy it and plan to keep the blog throughout my time at Wayne State University and maybe even beyond. This blog is a good way to make me think about the LIS program and what I want from it. It will also be a good resource when I work on my e-portfolio. That is the main reason why I plan on keeping the blog throughout my time at Wayne State. I would say the first two blog posts were the ones I valued the most. They made me think about why I am in this program and what I want from my MLIS degree. I did also enjoy the job analysis post, which gave me the opportunity to look through listerves for jobs I might want to do. It was a good way for me to determine the courses and experience I will need to find and obtain my dream job. Though looking at what all is out there I may have a few dream jobs now. That is another thing I have determined, there are too many things I want to do with this degree. I may end up jumping from job to job every few years unable to make up my mind. Maybe that is something to think about for the rest of the semester and throughout my time in the program. Hopefully by the time I graduate I will have a more focused idea of what I want to do with my degree. However, even if I do come up with a more focused idea, I am still the kind of person who does not want to do the same thing for the rest of my life. So I guess it’s a good thing I am earning such a versatile degree. For now, for the rest of the semester I will continue to try to stay on top of all my work and do the best I can. I would like to make A’s in both my classes.
All in all I would say not that much has changed about my beliefs, goals, and objective since the beginning of the semester. They are still at the core the same.

Leave a Reply

